All-Futures Team features three UMass Lowell River Hawks. (Photo/Twitter) UMass Lowell Three UMass Lowell River Hawks named to FCBL All-Futures League Team Strom Tower Worcester
All-Futures Team features three UMass Lowell River Hawks. (Photo/Twitter)

The Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL) announced on Friday the All-Futures League Team for the 2015 regular season and the First-Team includes three UMass Lowell River Hawks.

All together the two teams combine for a total of 40 players with at least one player represented from every team in the league. The Bristol Blues lead the way with seven members of their team named to the All-Futures League Team including three on the first team. Martha’s Vineyard Sharks and Wachusett Dirt Dogs each had six, followed by FCBL Champion Worcester Bravehearts (5), North Shore Navigators (5), Brockton Rox (4), Nashua Silver Knights (3), and Seacoast Mavericks (2). Torrington Titans and Pittsfield Suns each had one player represented.

Two of Worcester’s five players to make the teams are UMass Lowell’s Zack Tower and Ian Strom. Both players were impactful on the Bravehearts ability to win their second straight FCBL Championship. Tower batted .284 with 31 runs, 14 doubles, 13 home runs (second most in FCBL) and 35 RBI over 48 regular season games. Strom hit .353 (second highest in FCBL) with 26 runs, 11 doubles, and 10 RBI over 36 regular season games. Strom was most known for his two Sports Center top-10 diving catches this season.

The final River Hawk named to the First-Team was North Shore’s Steve Xirinachs. The pitcher went 7-1 with a 2.55 ERA and 49 strikeouts over 57.1 innings in 11 games this year.

First All-Futures League Team

POS Name FCBL Team College/University
C Jon Mayer Martha’s Vineyard Sharks Bucknell
1B Zach Tower Worcester Bravehearts UMass Lowell
2B Richie Fecteau North Shore Navigators Salem State
3B Austin Filere Brockton Rox MIT
SS Brandon Fischer North Shore Navigators St. Thomas Aquinas
OF Brian Campbell Martha’s Vineyard Sharks Stonehill
OF Ian Strom Worcester Bravehearts UMass Lowell
OF Ryan Gendron Seacoast Mavericks SNHU
OF Tom Marcinczyk Brockton Rox Rutgers
DH Eric Ostberg Nashua Silver Knights Hartford
UTIL Donovan Casey Martha’s Vineyard Sharks Boston College
SP Zach Kirby Brockton Rox Framingham State
SP George Lund Bristol Blues Roger Williams
SP Troy Terzi Bristol Blues Valdosta
SP Dylan Collett Worcester Bravehearts Saint Leo
SP Steve Xirinachs North Shore Navigators UMass Lowell
SP Mike Bruemmel Worcestor Bravehearts Wheaton
RP Speros Varinos North Shore Navigators Tufts
RP Logan Fullmer Worcester Bravehearts Maine
RP Rob Paccione Bristol Blues LIU Post

Second All-Futures League Team

POS Name FCBL Team College/University
C Domenic De Renzo Martha’s Vineyard Sharks Oklahoma
1B Chad Martin North Shore Navigators Bowdoin
2B Chris Chirardio Wachusett Dirt Dawgs Seton Hall
3B Justin Silvestro Wachusett Dirt Dawgs Wheaton
SS Jon Kristofferson Wachusett Dirt Dawgs Saint Peters
OF Tyler Schwanz Nashua Silver Knights Maine
OF Ryan Kelly Martha’s Vineyard Sharks Salve Regina
OF Max DiTondo Wachusett Dirt Dawgs Franklin Pierce
OF Davis Strong Bristol Blues Saint Marys
DH Ryan Sullivan Nashua Silver Knights SNHU
UTIL Gerard Rohan Bristol Blues Youngstown State
SP Andrew David Brockton Rox Tufts
SP Frank Valentino Torrington Titans Suffolk County CC
SP Kyle Dube Bristol Blues Fairfield
SP Steve Colella Wachusett Dirt Dawgs UMass Dartmouth
SP Jamin McCann Pittsfield Suns East Tennessee State
SP Austin French Seacoast Mavericks Brown
RP Mike Parmentier Martha’s Vineyard Sharks Norfolk State
RP Matthew Cronin Wachusett Dirt Dawgs UMass Dartmouth
RP Ty Robinson Bristol Blues Northeastern