Kevin Boyle named finalist for Mike Richter Award

Kevin Boyle named Mike Richter Award finalist. (Photo/John Corneau/Mill City Sports)
Kevin Boyle named Mike Richter Award finalist. (Photo/John Corneau/Mill City Sports)
Kevin Boyle named Mike Richter Award finalist. (Photo/John Corneau/Mill City Sports) {focus_keyword} Kevin Boyle named finalist for Mike Richter Award kevinboyle
Kevin Boyle named Mike Richter Award finalist. (Photo/John Corneau/Mill City Sports)

EDEN PRAIRIE, Minn. — Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today that senior goaltender Kevin Boyle of the UMass Lowell River Hawks was name one of five finalists for the 2016 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey.

The third annual award will be presented by Mike Richter at the 2016 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Tampa, Fla.

Boyle, who was crowned the Hockey East Goaltending Champion, ranks second in the nation with seven shutouts, fourth in goals-against average (1.80), sixth in save percentage (.934) and wins (22), and tied for 10th in winning percentage (.700). A native of Manalapan, N.J., Boyle has started all but one of UMass Lowell’s games, allowing two or fewer goals in 26 of those contests (including the last six games). He owns a 22-8-5 overall record and has posted a .930 or better save percentage in 20 games this season. His 22 wins are a career-high and his seven shutouts this season broke Connor Hellebuyck and Cam McCormick‘s single-season school record. Boyle has 10 games with 30 or more saves, including a pair of career-high 38-save efforts during the season. He has been named the Hockey East Defensive Player of the Week a league-high four times this season. Boyle is a business major at UMass Lowell.

Boyle is one of two Hockey East goaltenders to be named a finalist along with Boston College’s Thatcher Demko. Other finalists include; Cam Johnson (North Dakota), Charlie Lindgren (St. Cloud State) and Alex Lyon (Yale).

Past winners of the award include; Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell), who won the inaugural award in 2014 and Zane McIntyre (North Dakota) in 2015.

The 2016 Mike Richter Award will be presented at ESPN’s #CawlidgeHawkey event at Champions Sports Bar in Tampa, Fla., on Friday, April 8 (7 p.m. ET), featuring John Buccigross and Barry Melrose. Fans are encouraged to attend the event, which will feature a Q&A, giveaways, autographs and lots of college hockey talk. More details to be announced next week.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:

  • Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
  • Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
  • Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
  • Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
  • Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community

About Let’s Play Hockey

In its 44th season and based in the Twin Cities, Let’s Play Hockey is the longest-running hockey newspaper in the U.S., serving the largest hockey market in the nation. Let’s Play Hockey is published 29 times a year – weekly during the hockey season and monthly during the offseason.

About the Herb Brooks Foundation

The Herb Brooks Foundation is dedicated to growing the game of hockey and giving the game back to the kids. Founded in 2003 by Dan Brooks and Kelly Brooks Paradise, Herb’s family and friends created the foundation to preserve his legacy by continuing his life’s work by growing the game by “making hockey fun for kids and letting them learn to love the game